I go where I wanna go / providence

Now that they’re framed, mostly in second hand frames, I like them much more. Probably because I don’t have to worry as much about the 96 year old paper tearing or getting renegade glitter in my tea.

The paintings will go up on Friday and will remain in the Earth Fare cafe area through August. Hopefully at least a few of them will sell since that was kind of the whole point. That said, I don’t think these pieces are entirely separate from my “real” work and actually reflect on some interesting things that I had forgotten about.

One example: When I was a kid, I used to make a lot of collages. I didn’t intend for them to have socially critical meanings or set out thinking, “This will be funny”. I just made them. Later I’d look at them and think, “Oh, this is about _____” and I could see how they were a bit silly and angry all at once.

Coincidentally, I’ve been watching X-Men cartoons lately.

Author: sp.ps

I make things.

7 thoughts on “I go where I wanna go / providence”

  1. These are really amazing. Personally, I love the bear but I can’t wait to see these in person. I’m always a bit in awe of the energy and expression you can communicate through your work.

    1. Thank you! It’s funny you say that because I don’t feel like there’s enough energy in my work, but I guess we can never see in our own work what other people see. We just see how it doesn’t measure up to our expectations.

Leave a Reply

